Louisiana’s legislature has passed stricter hazing laws that are being implemented on NSU’s campus.
The Max Gruver Act makes hazing a crime with offenders facing up to $1000 in fines, up to six months in prison, or both. If the crime results in serious bodily injury, death or forced alcohol consumption resulting in a blood alcohol level of .30 and above, the fine increases to up to $10,000 and five years in prison.
Witnesses caught not reporting the incident can face fines and imprisonment now as well.
“The new laws are being made to protect students at any level of membership in any student organization, not just fraternities and sororities, and I believe that’s a very important step for effective legislation being in place for Louisiana,” Matt Pass, interfraternity council president said.
As part of the new laws, each member of every organization on campus must attend at least one hour of hazing prevention training. Jacob Norris, member of Pi Kappa Phi fraternity, said he thinks the new laws were necessary.
“It ensures that the members are being held responsible for each other and their own personal safety,” Norris said.
Greg Burke, director of athletics, said one of the main differences in the new hazing laws is that the level of accountability is increasing. Burke said the athletics department takes these laws seriously.
“I talk to our student athletes about the fact that it’s about respecting the people around you,” Burke said. “As an administrator on this campus, if I don’t know the name Max Gruver and what that means, I’m not doing my job.”